The Prostate

The prostate is a part of the male reproductive system. It adds nutrients and fluid to sperm. Normally the size of a walnut, the prostate can be divided into right and left "lobes."It is located in front of the rectum, just below the bladder. It surrounds the urethra, the tube that carries urine and semen through the penis. 
 
The growth of cells in the prostate, both healthy and cancerous, is stimulated by testosterone. Male hormones, including testosterone, are produced almost entirely by the testicles, with only a small percentage produced by adrenal glands (small glands found just above the kidneys).


 
 

Pelvis Anatomy

Below is a slider showing the male pelvis anatomy including the location of the prostate relative to other structures. Using your mouse, click and drag the slider to rotate the image to see the key structures.

Prostate Cancer Canada graciously acknowledges the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre for sharing this anatomy slider with us.


Pelvic Bones

The pelvic region is the area between the torso and the legs. The pelvic bones are made of the hip bones, sacrum and coccyx


Pelvic Floor Muscles

A group of muscles that make up the bottom of the pelvis. These muscles help support pelvic floor organs, aid with sexual activity, and help with urinary and fecal continence. You can strengthen these muscles by practicing Kegel exercises.

Bladder

The urinary bladder is a muscular sac in the pelvis that collects urine excreted from the kidneys. The bladder stores the urine until it is emptied through urination. 

Urethra

The urethra is the tube that carries urine and semen from the bladder and ejaculatory ducts out of the body. In males, it passes from the base of the bladder through the prostate, the pelvic floor, and the penis.  

Seminal Vesicles

These glands are located behind the bladder, above the prostate gland, and in front of the rectum. They are responsible for producing a large portion of the seminal fluid. 

Rectum

The rectum is the very last part of the digestive tract. It sits immediately behind the prostate. During a Digital Rectal Exam a healthcare provider can feel the prostate by inserting their finger(s) in the rectum.

Nerves

The nerves in the anatomy slider are part of the Hypogastric Plexus. These nerves send signals to the bladder, prostate, rectum, pelvic floor, and penis. 


For more information and support:





Subscribe to our free monthly e-newsletter!

* indicates required

 





 
PCC Spotlight
12 innovative Canadian prostate cancer researchers set out to make new Discoveries

Toronto, ON – September 28, 2017: 12 forward-thinking Canadian prostate cancer researchers have been rewarded for their innovation with Movember Discovery Grants.
More

Gray Tools '2017 Together We Are Stronger' campaign a success in creating awareness and raising funds for prostate cancer

BRAMPTON, Ontario, Sept 26, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Gray Tools Canada Inc, in cooperation with Prostate Cancer Canada, is proud to announce that its “2017 Together We Are Stronger” initiative raised $4,000, which will go directly towards funding valuable research that is needed to improve the way we diagnose, treat, and support men living with the disease.
More

Rocco Rossi to wrap up successful 5-year tenure as Prostate Cancer Canada CEO

September 7, 2017 - TORONTO, ON - With mixed emotions, longstanding Prostate Cancer Canada (PCC) President and CEO, Rocco Rossi, formally announced today that his time leading the organization will officially come to a close as of December 31, 2017.
More


Click here for news archive

La prostate

La prostate fait partie du système reproducteur masculin. Elle produit des nutriments et du liquide séminal. Normalement de la taille d'une noix, la prostate se divise en « lobes » droit et gauche. Elle est située devant le rectum, immédiatement sous la vessie. Elle entoure l'urètre, le canal dans lequel passent l'urine et le sperme dans le pénis pour sortir du corps.

La testostérone stimule la croissance des cellules prostatiques, qu'elles soient saines ou cancéreuses, Les hormones mâles, dont la testostérone, sont presque entièrement produites par les testicules, les glandes surrénales (petites glandes situées immédiatement au-dessus des reins) n'en produisant qu'un faible pourcentage.



Anatomie du bassin

Nous vous présentons ci-dessous un diaporama de l'anatomie du bassin masculin, dont le'emplacement de la prostate par rapport aux autres organes. À l'aide de la souris, cliquez et déplacez le curseur pour faire tourner l'image et voir les principaux organes.

Cancer de la Prostate Canada remercie gracieusement le Princess Margaret Cancer Centre de nous avoir fourni ce diaporama d'anatomie.


Os iliaques

La région pelvienne se situe entre le torse et les jambes. Les os iliaques se composent des os de la hanche, du sacrum et du coccyx.


Muscles du plancher pelvien

Groupe de muscles à la base du bassin. Ces muscles aident à soutenir les organes du plancher pelvien, facilient l'activité sexuelle et contribuent à la continence urinaire et anale. Les exercices de Kegel aident à renforcer ces muscles.


Vessie

La vessie est un organe musculaire pelvien qui retient l'urine excrétée des reins. La vessie emmagasine l'urine jusqu' à ce qu'elle soit évacuée lors de la miction.

Urètre

L'urètre est le canal qui transporte l'urine de la vessie et le sperme des canaux éjaculateurs à l'extérieur du corps. Chez les hommes, il part de la base de la vessie et traverse la prostate, le plancher pelvien et le pénis.


Vésicules séminales

Ces glandes sont situées derrière la vessie, au-dessus de la prostate et devant le rectum. Elles produisent une grande partie du liquide séminal.

Rectum

Le rectum est la toute dernière partie du tube digestif. Il se trouve immédiatement derrière la prostate. Le médecin peut sentir la prostate en introduisant un doigt dans le rectum, ce qu'on appelle un toucher rectal.

Nerfs

Les nerfs dans le diaporama d'anatomie font partie du plexus hypogastrique. Ils envoient des signaux à la vessie, à la prostate, au rectum, au plancher pelvien et au pénis.
 

Pour un complément d'information et du soutien :




Inscrivez-vous à nos nouvelles

* obligatoire






 
Contenu en vedette
La Fondation Movember et Cancer de la Prostate Canada font équipe pour transformer la recherche en résultats

26 juillet 2017 – TORONTO (ONTARIO) – Fidèles à leur longue tradition de partenariat pour le financement de recherches de grande qualité sur le cancer de la prostate au Canada, Cancer de la Prostate Canada (CPC) et la Fondation Movember ont annoncé aujourd’hui deux nouveaux projets qui offrent un potentiel très réel de changer concrètement le cours des choses pour les hommes atteints de formes virulentes du cancer de la prostate.
plus

La participation à la campagne Carreauté pour papa atteint des sommets inégalés à sa troisième année

6 juillet 2017 - TORONTO (Ontario) - Inaugurée en 2015, la campagne Carreauté pour papa de Cancer de la Prostate Canada (CPC) se confirme, d’année en année, comme le moyen que privilégient les Canadiennes et les Canadiens pour faire preuve de générosité à la fête des Pères.
plus


Cancer de la prostate nouvelles