Essais cliniques

La participation à un essai clinique est l’un des moyens d’obtenir de nouveaux traitements avant qu’ils ne soient mis à la disposition générale. Un essai clinique est une étude réalisée dans le cadre de travaux de recherche et qui fait appel à des volontaires (appelés participants) pour mettre à l’essai de nouveaux moyens de prévenir, de dépister, de traiter ou de gérer un cancer de la prostate ou d’autres maladies. Certains essais cliniques aident à déterminer si un nouveau traitement, un nouveau médicament ou un nouvel instrument est efficace et sûr.
 
Types d’essais cliniques
Il existe de nombreux types différents d’essais cliniques selon la question de recherche posée. Par exemple, certains essais cliniques portent sur la prévention, tandis que d’autres mettent à l’essai de nouvelles options de traitement.
 
Pourquoi participer?
La participation à un essai clinique est une contribution importante à la recherche. Les essais cliniques répondent à des questions importantes et mènent à de meilleurs résultats en santé. C’est également un bon moyen pour les participants d’obtenir gratuitement des traitements et un suivi étroit de professionnels de la santé.
 
Participation volontaire
La participation aux essais cliniques est volontaire. Vous pouvez choisir de participer (si vous répondez aux critères d’admissibilité) ou de vous en retirer à tout moment sans pénalisation.
 
Admissibilité à un essai clinique
Toutes les personnes désireuses de participer à un essai clinique ne peuvent pas nécessairement le faire. Il existe des critères précis (p. ex., inclusion et exclusion) qui déterminent si une personne peut participer ou non. L’équipe de recherche de l’essai clinique détermine ces critères et le « type » de participant recherché pour obtenir les résultats les plus exacts possible ou répondre à la question à l’étude. Les critères d’inclusion sont les critères que les personnes doivent respecter pour participer à l’essai clinique. Les critères d’exclusion sont, quant à eux, les facteurs qui excluent certaines personnes. Pour participer à un essai clinique, vous devez satisfaire à la fois aux critères d’inclusion et d’exclusion.
 
Les critères sont souvent liés aux facteurs suivants :
  • âge
  • sexe
  • type et stade de la maladie
  • médicaments/traitements antérieurs ou actuels
  • autres états pathologiques existants
 
Avantages et risques
Chaque essai clinique présente des avantages et des risques possibles pour les participants. L’équipe de recherche de l’essai clinique conçoit les essais pour qu’ils soient les plus avantageux et les moins risqués possible. Chaque essai clinique aura toutefois ses avantages et risques possibles particuliers. Il est important de les examiner et d’en parler à l’équipe de recherche et à votre médecin si vous envisagez de proposer votre participation.  
 
Règles et réglementation
Les essais cliniques sont assortis de règles, de réglementations et de politiques gouvernementales et internationales strictes pour s’assurer que la recherche qui fait appel à des participants humains se fait de la manière la plus sûre et la plus éthique possible. Ils doivent être approuvés par diverses instances avant qu’ils ne puissent avoir lieu, de façon à protéger les participants.
 
Pour plus de renseignements et pour connaître les essais cliniques en cours, visitez :



Inscrivez-vous à nos nouvelles

* obligatoire






 
Contenu en vedette
Des chercheurs de l'UdeS font une découverte majeure

Premier cancer en importance chez les hommes, le cancer de la prostate touche un Canadien sur sept.
plus


Cancer de la prostate nouvelles

Clinical Trials

One way to access new treatments before they become widely available is to participate in a clinical trial. A clinical trial is a research study that uses volunteers (called participants) to test new ways to prevent, detect, treat or manage prostate cancer or other illnesses. Some clinical trials help determine whether or not a new treatment, drug or device is effective and safe.
 
Types of Clinical Trials
There are many different types of clinical trials depending on the research question being investigated. For example, Some clinical trials are looking at prevention while others are testing new treatment options.
 
Why Participate?
Participating in a clinical trial is a valuable contribution to research. Clinical trials answer important questions and lead to better health outcomes.  Also, it’s a good way for participants to access free treatments and get monitored closely by healthcare professionals.
 
Participation is Voluntary
Participation in clinical trials is voluntary. You can choose to participate (if you qualify) or you can choose to withdraw from a clinical trial at any point without any penalties.
 
Qualifying for a Clinical Trial
Not all individuals interested in participating in a clinical trial can do so. There are specific criteria (i.e., inclusion and exclusion) that determine whether an individual can participate or not. This criteria is outlined by the clinical trial research team, who determine the ‘type’ of participant they are looking for to get the most accurate results or answer the study question. Inclusion criteria are criteria individuals must meet to participate in the clinical trial. While, exclusion criteria are factors that exclude some people from participating. In order to become a clinical trial participant you must satisfy both the inclusion and exclusion criteria.
 
The criterial are often related to:
  • Age
  • Gender
  • Type and stage of disease
  • Previous or current medications/treatments
  • Other existing medical conditions
 
Benefits and Risks
With each clinical trial there are potential benefits and risks to the participants. The clinical trial research team, design the trials to have the most benefits and as few risks as possible. However, each clinical trial will have its unique possible benefits and risks. It’s important to consider these and talk to the study team and your doctor if you’re considering participation.
 
Rules and Regulations
There are strict government and international rules, regulations and policies for clinical trials to make sure that research using human participants is done in the most safe and ethical manner. There are various levels of approval before a clinical trial can take place to protect the participants taking part.
 
For more information and current clinical trials, please visit:

For more information and support:




Plaid for Dad


Subscribe to our free monthly e-newsletter!

* indicates required

 





 
PCC Spotlight
Honouring dad this Father’s Day the Canadian way: In plaid

TORONTO, ON – (May 8, 2018) – Plaid replaces business-casual on Friday, June 15 as hundreds of thousands of Canadians don the iconic Canadian attire all to honour dad and end prostate cancer.
More

The Finger – A tried and true method to save lives

TORONTO, CANADA (May 8, 2018) – Every day, more and more methods to detect prostate cancer are being explored, but the tried and true methods of a digital rectal examination (DRE) – where a healthcare professional inserts a gloved finger into the rectum to check for abnormalities, paired with a blood test known as the prostate-specific antigen (PSA) test – which you can get through your family doctor, are still the long-standing proven ways to save a life.
More

Landmark study links tumour evolution to prostate cancer severity

Toronto (April 19, 2018) – Findings from Canadian Prostate Cancer Genome Network (CPC-GENE) researchers and their collaborators, published today in Cell, show that the aggressiveness of an individual prostate cancer can be accurately assessed by looking at how that tumour has evolved.
More


Click here for news archive